Tags

Meet Lisa Perry and her Stylish Home in New York

Over many years I developed a passion for clothing and art from the late 1960’s and early 1970’s. People had such a strong reaction to my vintage wardrobe that I decided to start designing my own line, inspired by that groundbreaking era. My design aesthetic is always grounded in clean lines, geometric shapes, bold colors and minimalism.

I began designing clothing in October 2006. I was making custom dresses for friends and acquaintances with a local couturier; my first sales were out of my second-floor loft on West Broadway in SoHo. Now we have built a complete women’s clothing line, as well as accessories, children’s wear, and home products.

I just became a member of the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) and I am thrilled about that.

I am also so proud of the amazing artist collections we have created using inspiration from works by Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein and Jeff Koons. The dresses from these collections are incredibly special and they came out more beautiful than I ever imagined. As a vintage collector, I can imagine that they will live on as very special iconic pieces. And I am really excited about the next artist we are going to work with – a secret for now!

5-17-2013 11-00-47 AMTake an average taxi drive to the Upper East Side, get greeted by a dapper-looking doorman. ride a man-operated elevator up to the top floor of a heritage building and then …BAM! You’re back in the swinging’ 60s. White lacquer floors and walls, punchy primary colors and pop art: Warhol, Lichtenstein, Rauschenberg, Hirst (his thesis project!) and more.

5-17-2013 11-01-38 AM Jacket, CHANEL5-17-2013 11-03-28 AM

They had to lift this [Jeff Koons piece] up with a crane, they had to close Sutton Place. The neighbours weren’t happy. All, Lisa Perry

5-17-2013 11-07-19 AMClutch, Vintage

5-17-2013 11-11-08 AMThe artist collection comes from my passion and love of art and I am lucky to have friendships with the artist and their foundation. It’s a very exciting journey, and customers are thrilled with the collections. We have worked with Warhol, Lichtenstein and Koons to date.Dress, Lisa Perry x Jeff Koons.

5-17-2013 11-11-40 AMDress, Lisa Perry; Bag, Vintage.

5-17-2013 11-16-24 AM

5-17-2013 11-17-28 AM

 L to R. Shoes, CHANEL, Vintage, Vintage.

5-17-2013 11-10-14 AM

5-17-2013 11-12-00 AM

  Dress, Lisa Perry; Shoes, Dries Van Noten

5-17-2013 11-10-41 AM

This painting is an example of a piece of European pop art that we include in the collection. The artist is Martial Raysse. European pop is much less well known, but we love the dimension it adds.All, Various Designers.

5-22-2013 6-50-09 PMI have several iconic 60s vintage dresses which are pictured here. In the ’60’s, if you sent in five labels and a dollar, you got this dress. Now it’s worth thousands. Super dress! I use metal, plastic, or paper in my collections, and I find it completely inspiring that the designs of the 60s were so ahead of their time, and they continue to look modern. They were true geniuses, and I bow to Rudi Gernreich, André Courrèges, Pierre Cardin, and Paco Rabanne.All, Vintage

5-22-2013 6-53-50 PMThe Murakami guards make me smile. He is one of the pop artists from today that is in the collection. I enjoy looking at them when we dine; they make the meal more fun and happy.Fur, Lisa Perry

5-17-2013 11-04-46 AMClockwise from Top. Clutches, Lisa Perry, Judith Lieber, Vintage, Vintage, Charlotte Olympia.

Photos The Coveteur

