Tags

With the premiere of “To Rome With Love” just happening, we can expect to see Penelope Cruz doing far more press aside from landing the cover of  May Harper’s Bazaar. The 37- year old veteran actress is photographed by Terry Richardson close-up in a Swarvoski-crystal jacket paired with a diamond-and-sapphire necklace from Aramni Prive. In the May issue Cruz discusses her first film with co-star Leonardo DiCaprio, taking it slow now that she’s a mother, her role as the face for Lancôme, and her idol Meryl Streep.

 On shooting her first film after having Leonardo:
“I love being around Woody. Watching him direct, and sometimes he falls asleep while they are lighting the next shot. I take pictures of him because he picks the strangest positions. I always think he is going to fall off his chair. That whole shoot I laughed so hard.”

 On her role as the face of Lancôme’s Trésor:
“It was actually my first perfume. It’s a real history. Real memories that are related to this scent. It’s funny, after over 20 years…. You arrive in this Lancôme world, and everything is full of white flowers, and everything smells good. You feel like you are walking on clouds, and then… you go home.”

 On her idol being Meryl Streep:
“When I first started watching movies and I saw Meryl’s work, that’s when I became obsessed with acting. Now I kiss her whenever I see her! She must think I’m crazy.”

“I’ve always looked for my sanity, my sofa time, my long dinner,” says night-owl Cruz of staying grounded.

 Penelope Cruz throughout the years in Vogue

With Spanish bullfighter Cayetano Rivera Ordóñez, who shared screen time with her in Manolete.

 Of course Woody [Allen] was just so unbelievably enamored of her,” says Scarlett Johansson of her costar, in a dress inspired by Goya.

 “Underneath it all she has a very earthy strength.” remarks Pedro Almodóvar of his muse. “It has something to do with her roots.”

The Cruz siblings share a flair for performance.

 “I’d dreamed about that moment for so long,” says Cruz of the first time Almodóvar (left) called her. “…Now he’s like family to me.”

